Reflections During an Early Morning Run

13.33 Miles Run this early morning upon the frozen snow filled ground. It was a chilly route, filled with icy thoughts. Normally I am filled with positive exuberance on my long run days but today each stride was burdened with a dusting of sorrow brought on by the events transpiring in Ukraine. War is nasty business and the reality of the madness happening in that far off land brings forth sadness, concern, and memories of moments of yesterday that I have not remembered in many years.

As I pondered the events transpiring in Ukraine, I kept reflecting upon the Poem, “Lancer” by Alfred Edward Housman. My heart goes out to all those soldiers and civilians who have been placed in harm’s way. My thoughts and prayers are with thee.

Here is the poem I referred to above. FYI, a Lancer is a soldier of a cavalry regiment armed with lances.

“Lancer” by ALFRED EDWARD HOUSMAN:

I ‘listed at home for a lancer,

Oh who would not sleep with the brave?

I ‘listed at home for a lancer

To ride on a horse to my grave.

And over the seas we were bidden

A country to take and to keep;

And far with the brave I have ridden,

And now with the brave I shall sleep.

For round me the men will be lying

That learned me the way to behave,

And showed me my business of dying:

Oh who would not sleep with the brave?

They ask, and there is not an answer;

Says I, I will ‘list for a lancer,

Oh who would not sleep with the brave?

And I with the brave shall be sleeping

At ease on my mattress of loam,

When back from their taking and keeping

The squadron is riding at home.

The wind with the plumes will be playing,

The girls will stand watching them wave,

And eyeing my comrades and saying

Oh who would not sleep with the brave?

They ask, and there is not an answer;

Says you, I will ‘list for a lancer,

Oh who would not sleep with the brave?

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

3 responses to “Reflections During an Early Morning Run

  • Rajiv

    That’s a superb poem.

    I still don’t know how you get up early in the morning to go for a run

    • twotiretirade

      To be fair yesterday I had off from work and was able to sleep in till way after dawn but the first thing I did after a quick breakfast was run. 😁 For me , starting the day off with a run/ workout just sets me up for success. Its like if the first I do is q good choice, many more good choices shall follow!!! With that said , start the day with a bad choice then the rest if the day is going to follow down that same negative path.

Leave a comment