Free Flow Thoughts while Riding

I am a Rider

We ride for so many reasons.  When I first started to ride, it was for the adrenaline rush and for the adventure.  To this day my adrenaline still flows on every ride and each journey I take on two wheels is still an adventure.  My passion of riding has become more than a physical reaction to speed and new scenery.  It has become a real mental escape for my soul.  Our bikes take ourselves away from the world and we have the opportunity to ponder thoughts and dreams which may be out of reach without the help of our motorcycle explorations.  It does not happen much but every so often when riding, I will think of a worldly issue such as bills, personal problems and work.  During such interruptions, I will quickly squash the thought.  There is no room in my head for such negatively while riding on my motorcycle.  When I first started riding, I would always contemplate my life’s concerns while riding which took away from the experience.  It took me years of training my mind to reserve the use of my brain to focus on road safety while riding instead of thinking of everyday problems which were vexing me.  This focus on road awareness eventually lead to a change of what I observed while riding on my motorcycle.  The external environment I viewed while riding became more vibrant and real.  The color of the trees and flowers I passed jumped out at me, the smells of the road were more pronounced and the sounds I heard became clearer.  I also found that putting my worries aside while riding opened up my imagination to original thoughts and perspectives which I would have never experienced when caught up in life’s mundane apprehensions.  I am so grateful for riding b/c it’s the only place where I can truly take myself away from reality and dwell on items of philosophical importance to me.

It is truly ironic because my mental focus on road safety eventually lead me to have more free form contemplations then I have ever had previously.  There is an issue with daydreaming to deeply; sometimes my mind begins to focus more on my free thoughts then keeping safe on the road.  So for me it’s a delicate balance of keeping safe and being able to day dream of thoughts that I can rarely ponder anywhere else.  Many people would state that we must only dwell on looking for escape routes, dangerous situations, and other perils while riding.  That is a priority but if done safely, day dreaming is a priority as well.

Can an individual focus on safety while riding a motorcycle as well as ponder life’s mysteries?  I believe this is possible and would argue that the riders focus on self-preservation actually opens one’s mind to deeper emotional thought.  When off of my motorcycle my mind seems to dwell mostly on items of immediate importance such as work, keeping up with my daily schedule and thinking of immediate needs like what’s for dinner.  When on the motorcycle my brain just goes to a deeper place.  It transcends the now and motors off to a different universe where I am free to dream and not be burdened by life’s problems.  Maybe this is due to the fact that if I hit an oil slick and slide of the road, none of those every day concerns will be of any consequence.  My mind is still hyper-focused on the dangers of the road but it’s also more open to thoughts and ideas that are not normally a priority in my everyday life.  This is what I love most about riding; it gives me the ability to escape my own head.

 Direction

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

8 responses to “Free Flow Thoughts while Riding

Leave a Reply

