Kick Failure in the Mouth

Army Bobber

Failure

An act or instance of failing or proving unsuccessful; lack of success

We often take photos and selfies of the moments in our lives that seem most precious. Photos of weddings, graduations, parties and other positive pleasant moments are the popular choice for most personal pictures. It makes sense, we want to remember the good times. We want to be able to reflect upon those moments of great triumph and happiness. Maybe are society should make a paradigm shift with this positive snapshot philosophy. Instead of taking selfies and photos during the good times, maybe we should take them during the bad times to make a historical record of our personal failures. If we could better remember all those letdowns and disappointments, then maybe we as a society could better appreciate the good times we have. I was born a pessimist so this goes along with my natural inclination to be negative. I have fought to think from a Positive, HALF FULL perspective my whole life, but my mind often drifts towards that Half Empty theory of thought.

Today I shall be negative but only to celebrate my failure.

Can someone really celebrate failure? I believe we all can. Take ownership of the task not completed and share it with the world. Have fun with the disappointment and make everyone wonder why you are still smiling. Then reevaluate the situation, analyze why the battle was lost from a macro and micro level. One can’t fight the battle using the same strategy when failure was the previous result. To change the conclusion, one must play another hand. It’s also important to contemplate the value of your objective and ponder its own merits. Then sit down and really pray, dwell and evaluate whether that task is worthy of a second attempt. If the answer is yes, then get back on that horse and tackle it.

So my goal is to run a marathon. My plan was to train for a year and run the race in early 2016. I spent the month of December running, exercising, dieting. I was a 30 day fitness fanatic. It was a month of success but shortly after the New Year, I just fell off the fitness horse and settled back to my slothful like tendencies.

Over the last week, I have re-evaluated my goal of running a marathon and came up with the below questions and answers.

Question-            Is the goal of running a marathon still worth fighting for?

Answer-               Yes, I want to accomplish this task

Question-            Is the goal of running a marathon feasible?

Answer-               Yes, but I must segment the task into smaller blocks, focus on a mile at a time

Question-            Why did you stop training?

Answer-               I was focused on losing weight more than running and doing too much too soon

 

So it’s time to start training again. This post is about my set back, blogs can’t always be good news. Moments of pixies and dandelions are great but let’s be honest; in life there are moments of failure, worry, toil, hardship and scorn. I am sad that I have let myself veer from my own convictions but feel proud that I have the courage and motivation to give it a second chance.

Circling back to my first paragraph, there is no need to take photos of our failures. Our memories are all too good at committing negative recollections into our psyches. If anything, undesirable remembrances persist for far too long in our minds. They normally do us more harm than good. Reflecting on the sorrowful times of yesterday, only guarantees us more of the same in the future. I will celebrate my failures, learn from them, and endeavor to discard them. Anyone for a run???

 

The good news is that motorcycling season is right around the corner. Lets Ride!!!!

fai

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

13 responses to “Kick Failure in the Mouth

  • Michele

    Thanks for this – needed this today! Totally bummed by the continuing bad weather on the east coast and feeling very discouraged heading into my 4th month of unemployment. Need to get on the bike ASAP!!!

    You can totally rock the marathon – but you don’t need to start training yet… 6 months should do it. Go to Hal Higdon’s website and check out the training programs – they’ll ease you into it. I have done 2 full and 2 half marathons – I am NOT a runner, so if I can do it, so can you!

    • twotiretirade

      Thank you so much for the advice! Wow 6 months, that is crazy. I will immediately check out the site. The east Coast is like the North Pole, I am here working right now for a while..Wow I cant see over the snow banks. Only a few more months and you will be back on two wheels.
      Thanks again for the advice and comments and remember the sun will shine soon!

  • Newbie Alaskan

    Interesting perspective in recording our failures for motivational use; I could see this being of value as long as it is balanced against one’s successes. People respond differently to different types of motivation but for the most part humans are motivated by ‘positive’ goals. I do like the symmetry of having records of both the positives and the negatives as applied to life’s challenges. I think you hit the nail on the head; we humans learn far more, and better, from our failures than from our successes. In general the more grief an experience engenders within us the more we learn and the less likely we are to forget such lessons. But the real key isn’t having more of one kind of learning than another; it is the ability to struggle hard, fail spectacularly, taste defeat on one’s knees, stand up, dust one’s self off, take note of all the learnings and start heading yet again toward the next challenge. This philosophy fits in nicely with the old saw that ‘one must work hard for anything worthwhile’. And I liked your framing of the important concept that being flexible and aware of many possibilities in working towards goals is necessary. That dovetails nicely with the wisdom that ‘doing the same thing over and over but expecting a different outcome is a form of insanity’. Congratulations on your achievements to date and especially for jumping back into the fray!!

  • twotiretirade

    Newbie Alaskan- As always it is a pleasure to hear from you! Man I whish I could better articulate my thoughts like you. I always smile reading your thoughts and say, “why could I not write like him”….

    I figure at the end of the day positive re-enforcement is the ultimate motivation. If we focus on our downfalls to much, we could lead our convictions down a very negative spiral. That does not mean we should not reflect upon our pitfalls from time to time. Everyone is different at the end of the day and were all motivated by different things. With that said, I do believe negative memories are a good use to prompt us into action, we just cant focus on them for to long. It is definitely a fine line to walk. Keep warm Alaska.

    • Newbie Alaskan

      Sadly I must tell you that this is the second consecutive ‘winter that wasn’t’ in Alaska; as I write this at 12:56 AKST rain is mixing with snow and the air temp is 35.1 F! Won’t know until May but this winter could possibly be the warmest in Alaskan history; if it’s not it will lose out to last winter (2013-2014). I moved up here to experience feet of snow and bone chilling cold; thus far I’ve experienced neither of them.
      Thanks for the kind words; I do take my writing seriously and I’ve had 61 years – more or less – to develop and hone my style. Being able to express one’s self is half the battle; where I tend to struggle is developing a subject and then exploring all its intricacies and nuances. I truly enjoy your writings because they are gritty and down to earth; you express yourself very well in a rather pithy manner. I’ve never been able to do this; even when working on my high school paper I just couldn’t escape my need to embellish my writing with lots of flowery words and spend sentences crafting images. Being able to express one’s self in a minimalist way is a true talent. A hero of mine with this ability was the sci-fi writer Ray Bradbury. He could paint amazing images with just a few words!
      I concur with your thoughts; focusing on any facet of the ‘big picture’ leads to an unbalanced perspective. Like you I grew up favoring the pessimistic viewpoint; it was just who I was for decades. In my middle thirties something happened – most likely a shift in my internal biochemistry – as I suddenly no longer struggled with hay fever which I’d had since I was a baby and within maybe two months I realized the depression I’d grown to accept as just part of me was also gone. In hindsight I was probably clinically depressed from the time of adolescence although I never understood what was going on. As I aged I became aware a lot of my behavior ‘wasn’t right’ but I was still rather clueless and blamed it on just being different. Only when it disappeared did I come to appreciate just how much it had molded and shaped not just me but who I was to other people. From that time forward I slowly crawled out of my shell, really worked at being more extroverted and spent decades delving into philosophies, religions and belief systems searching for some solid answers to why I had struggled so long. Eventually I came to realize it was all part of my journey and I apparently needed to know depression, desolation and desperation perhaps so I could really appreciate their absence. Regardless, I am finally more of a ‘glass is half full’ person and I want to be upbeat and positive because it helps me avoid falling into negativism which I can do so very easily. It does take work and often requires conscious direction but I’m sold on the positive outlook. That really drives the realization that ‘attitude is everything!’. Keep up the great work! Like Michelle I wasn’t having a great morning and then I saw the notification of your posting, read it and suddenly felt I could deal with the current issues and do so with an upbeat mood. As she said; “Thanks for this- needed this today”!!!

      • twotiretirade

        Its funny because here I am on the east coast working in 6 feet worth of snow in bone cold temperatures while your living in the Alaskan Havana playing beach volleyball. Who knows, maybe were living in Back-Wards World.

        Just wanted to say, thanks for that last message, it means a ton. You know the journey you spoke about is why we are living this zany life. The journey teaches us wisdom, humility, and self awareness. Without that strange Journey, we could not develop our potential to become what is most right and good.
        The Journey can be ugly, wondrous, disastrous, triumphant and any other such adjective. But what the Journey is most, is what we make of it. As well as what we learn from it. Sounds like your Journey has taught you some things. Good Stuff!

      • Newbie Alaskan

        I truly admire your outlook on life; it is one I wish I could’ve cultivated twenty years back but then I eventually made my way and I probably needed those additional experiences to fully develop my perspective. I required decades to truly understand that the purpose of the Journey is not to arrive but rather to experience the Journey! Once I accepted this wisdom so much changed but I remained often perplexed as to why I took so long to accept this concept as it was in front of me all the time. It is so easy to overlook the forest for the trees. I concur 100% with your comment that the Journey is what we make it; that is so right on!! To really accept this one must develop a sense of awareness and this involves becoming fully conscious and accepting responsibility for one’s self. I think this is something that is difficult for many folks; they carry with them the beliefs that an overbearing parent may have contributed to their shy nature or the loss of a parent at an early age caused them to develop self-worth issues. Yes, these could indeed be true but it doesn’t stop with learning these things. One must push forward, accept and then own these and a myriad of other issues, perceptions and beliefs we inculcate along the Journey. Only by doing so can we continue to develop ourselves which is really the impetus to continue living and moving forward. I find reading your postings often hits me ‘center on’ and I know there’s meaning in this; sometimes it even really helps me, as the original posting did, at a time I need some assistance. Such synergism is always fascinating to me and it could be said I live to experience these moments. If you ever find yourself in south central Alaska I’d love to meet for coffee or a beer or what ever; I suspect we’d have some pretty ‘interesting’ conversations. For now just continue to challenge yourself and share your valuable perspectives with the rest of us. It’s this kind of interaction that is the real power behind blogging!

  • twotiretirade

    Alaska, Idaho and Hawaii are the only states that I have not yet been, so my visit shall happen sooner or latter. If I get to Alaska, I would definitely take you up on that invite. I have always thought of riding my cycle to Alaska, just one more dream to ponder!!!!!!!

    • Newbie Alaskan

      Wow, you really have been all over the US, haven’t you..?? Making a two wheeled trip to Alaska would be right up there with the ‘Iron Butt’ type rides but traveling through Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia and The Yukon Territories on a bike would be an awesome adventure!

  • LB

    I love your honesty. We should all be willing to admit to the times when we backslide.
    I do think that dividing up your goal into smaller increments …
    Motorcycle season – woohoo!!

    • twotiretirade

      Thank You! Its nice to be able to vent about the things that your not so proud of. Its easy to talk about our achievements and the positive aspects of life but not so easy to discuss our failures and bad choices. Its really these set backs that should be conversed, analyzed and vented in hopes of not repeating such actions in the future.

    • twotiretirade

      Barry, Thanks for the visit. I took a look at your blog, it looks like you ride a BMW. Nice rides for sure. I am actually doing a ride in Colorado in a few months sponsored by the Colorado BMW Riders Club, Its a 1000 miles in 24 hours. Good stuff. Keep riding and all will be well. Cheers…

Leave a Reply

