Act On It

 

I wrote a blog post a few months back about staying in touch with your dreams. It was a post from my heart and really did exhibit all that I felt when I wrote it. It has been a re-occurring theme in my life to feel an intense amount of passion regarding my theories and philosophies but at times, I tend to lack a certain amount of conviction to see my passions to fruition. Since I have last posted my diatribe on Keeping Ones Dreams Alive, I have done nothing at all to follow through on my own goals. When I was 17 years old, I made a bucket list. In my youth, I never thought I would live to see 40, so I worked that Bucket List down with a fervid conviction. I am proud to say that I only have 3 unmet objectives from my original bucket list. One of them is to run and finish a marathon. This dream is truly far off from a reality for me. I am about 40 pounds overweight and have not exercised in about a year. I get tired walking my dog and have not met an ice cream cone I won’t eat. I am the strict definition of “The Guy Who Has Let Himself Go”. Now in my own defense, I am not inherently lazy, I just have put my heart and soul into my work over the last decade and any free time was devoted to my family or to motorcycling. My workaholic tendencies and a blatant disregard for my own health has wreaked havoc on physical conditioning. I kind of feel like one of those guys on “Biggest Loser” who used to be healthy but finds themselves to be a mound of jello.

It’s about focusing my will on something I cared about when I was 17 and still care about today. It’s about not just thinking about my dreams but acting upon them with a quest to fulfill the moment before the moment is gone. The days of wasted time will be no more, it’s time to complete a marathon or go down trying. It won’t happen overnight. Given my health, I will set my initial time-table at a year to get it done.

I will use my blog to track my progress so feel free to keep me honest and I apologize to diverge from my normal theme of motorcycling. Well now that I think about it, motorcycling brought me to my last post of keeping ones dreams alive which has transgressed to today’s post on how one MUST ACT Upon his dreams. So in reality, I can thank my love of motorcycling for the journey I am about to begin.

Dreams

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

5 responses to “Act On It

  • Wendy

    Wow! A marathon, way to go. With a great perspective and attitude toward that dream, you can make it! And probably have a blast crossing that finish line. Can’t wait to read about your progress.

  • Rajiv

    Go fulfill your bucket list, but lets not talk of weight!

  • Newbie Alaskan

    Congratulations on your latest challenge! I can relate completely with your situation; I remained in fairly good shape until I retired in my middle 50’s. Then, to use your words, I embodied that ‘Man Who Let Himself Go’. I am physically lazy and spend far too much time in front of a monitor and keyboard and I know at 61 years of age this is not good. But I also recognize it is unlikely to change so I need to start working on the things I can change to help me shed my excess 70 pounds. I’ve started the ‘Paleo Diet’; thus far it’s made me feel much better and also has contributed to a slow weight loss. I am forcing myself to hit the Bow-flex at least five times a week. So I’ll see where I am in four months time.

    You are so ‘right on’ regarding following your dreams and making them happen!! When I volunteered at an assisted living facility in SE Michigan from 2010 through 2013 I spent a lot of time talking with the residents. To a person they all shared one common regret; that when younger they hadn’t taken that one ‘wild’ chance or pursued that one all-consuming dream. The more I heard this the more I knew I had to make retirement to Alaska happen as it was my dream for almost 20 years. In the end I did so; while I might well still end up an elderly man with some regrets I also know I did reach out and grab that dream back in 2012 – 2013 even though I was almost 60 years of age. Better late than never..!

  • grandprixfitness

    Great post! It’s great that you’ve laid out your plan for the next year. One thing you might want to consider is Precision Nutrition. Granted I am a nutrition coach, but PN has done amazing work for my clients. The Lean Eating program starts in January. Talk about accountability, they’ll keep you honest.

    I’ve sent many of my own clients to them. A few work in the oil industry and have been successful all over the world, from Houston to Malaysia to Australia.

    http://www.precisionnutrition.com/cmd.php?Clk=4918637

    The best part is it doesn’t take much time, plus working on nutrition is easier than adding exercise to an already busy schedule. You’re going to eat. Might as well make better choices, it doesn’t cost anything.

    At any rate, I know improving your fitness will also improve your riding. So you can also look at your new endeavor as a solution that will make motorcycling even more fun and less tiresome.

    Keep moving forward!

Leave a Reply

