Make Your Ride Any Type of Cycle You Want It to Be

Adventure Tour

Have you noticed there are just too many types of cycles out there? I am not even going to try to list all the different niche bikes there are on the market today. I love the fact that there is a diverse selection of rides to choose from but it bothers me that we categorize them in different sects like some sort of evil Anthropology experiment.  At the end of the day we have a motor and two wheels and that is enough for me.

Give me a slow bike and I will ride it like it’s on the Salt Flat Time Trials. Give me a duel sport and I will tour with it like a Gold Wing. It took me 30 years to get my first cycle and have loved riding since day one on a cycle. One constant has remained true in my 12 years of riding; “I have not met a motorcycle, I did not like”.

I refuse to classify my ride as anything but a motorcycle b/c I plan to use it for any purpose my warped sense of judgment leads me. If that means it’s a dirt bike one day then so be it. If I go down on soft sand then that is life; it’s nothing a pair of knobby tires can’t fix.

Don’t Settle Into Conformity That Other Define. Be the Catalyst That Burns Down Those Barriers

Today I took my FJR up a dirt mountain pass in Colorado. Well to clarify, about 7 miles was hard gravel/dirt road, the rest was tarmac. In all reality, I wish I had a bike for every occasion but I am lucky to have one bike let alone 6 different rides. Make your bike whatever kind of bike you want and need it to be.

Get rid of brand allegiances and style snobbery and embrace all that is good about our lifestyle.

Whatever you ride, keep your passions vibrant, the wind in your face and let your smile linger as you cruise down life’s wondrous pathways.

 

Wonderous Road-2

 

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

12 responses to “Make Your Ride Any Type of Cycle You Want It to Be

  • Rajiv

    I cannot ride a bike, but I would love to go on a bike journey

    • twotiretirade

      I really think any riding philosophy that I have can be transferred in some way to what ever passions we have. It does not take a cycle to be a part of “the journey”, it just takes a receptive soul and heart.

  • preacher291

    Rob, really enjoy reading your blog. You should be switched to Colorado anytime now. Keep the shiney side up. PREACHER

    • twotiretirade

      Preacher, I appreciate you helping me out. If you get a chance to come out to Colorado and ride then make it happen. Its like riding on an amusement ride everyday but without the stress of being at the fun park. Its serenity on two wheels…
      How are the boys doing? You guys riding a ton? Tell Dozer you need a road trip to Colorado!!!

  • Anonymous

    Love the concept behind this post! I have a buddy who is solidly into BMW’s and owns three or four including a couple he’s customized. He loves the bikes but hates the ‘high minded snobbery’ that so many BMW riders exhibit. He used to spend time at the Nationals and has shown his customs but he finally grew tired of having the ‘elite’ crowd look down their noses at his work because it wasn’t ‘pure’ BMW. To him and to so many others it’s the experience that counts, not what you ride while creating said experience!

  • LB

    “Whatever you ride, keep your passions vibrant, the wind in your face and let your smile linger as you cruise down life’s wondrous pathways” – perfect words!!! Glad you enjoyed that mountain pass 🙂

  • benny nackholm

    yeh i feel you bro i got a honda 125 wawe and i can get into the jungle dirt roads and tarmac and city shopping in same day

    Den fredag, 15 augusti 2014 11:03 skrev TwoTireTirade :

    WordPress.com twotiretirade posted: ” Have you noticed there are just too many types of cycles out there? I am not even going to try to list all the different niche bikes there are on the market today. I love the fact that there is a diverse selection of rides to choose from but it bothers m”

Leave a Reply

