Accidents Happen

c39909e6cc4d257e54a9f0e9aab32fcf

We have all heard it a thousand times, “there are only two types of riders out there, those who have gone down and those who are going to go down”.  I remember my mom telling me that when I wanted to buy my first motorcycle at 16 years old.  When I pressed the issue with dear old mom, I got the famous, “not when you’re living under my roof” speech.  My wife gave me the same discourse when I wanted to take my young son for a motorcycle trip.  It’s hard to love motorcycles so much when so many people you love don’t support your passion.  I believe that most Nay Sayers have good intentions but life is all about weighing Risks vs. Rewards.  With every activity there is some sort of risk.  A jogger must risk a physical assault every time they venture outside.  Men/Women who shovel their driveway risk a heart attack or back injury with every snowfall.  Every person who eats out to dinner risks food poison or the flu through germ contamination of their favorite foods.  Life is a risky proposition but we continue down the path of life with our pants on fire hoping for the best with a goal of keeping a smile on our face and supporting those we love along the way.

I have no statistical data but I have to assume that not every biker goes down.  There has to be a few riders who traveled on two wheels for a matter of time who have met their maker without taking a spill on their beloved cycle.  Personally I assume that it is just a matter of time that I have my first accident on my cycle.  “Absent Minded” is my most prominent attribute, so it seems very unlikely to survive a life time of riding without going down.  Let’s be honest, I am not the most skilled rider, and there are a ton of riders with amazing riding abilities who have gone down for one reason or another.  So it’s out of respect for them that I prepare for the worst but never stop hoping for the best. 

I will end this dialogue with a quote from Dejan Stojanovic, “Accidents are not accidents but precise arrivals at the wrong right time.

Car accident

b670d5bcbaa0ddb58e1d9fd04e4ba8a9

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

11 responses to “Accidents Happen

  • scroungelady

    We don’t know what is going to happen when we fire up our bikes. I had been riding for 30+ years before my first accident.

  • TheVeeBumbleBee

    Very good thoughts! Of course, it’s always good to hope to beat the odds, but ATGATT certainly helps too.

  • Experimental Ghost

    My dad always said. “On the day you are born the date of your death is predetermined. Nothing you can do will change this, so enjoy your life like there’s no tomorrow”.

    • twotiretirade

      Your dads theory breads a zest for life, I like it!! There are to many people out there that just kind of Zombie through life. The divine spark has left their soul. That is my biggest fear. Thanks for stopping by..

  • Matthew Ciarvella

    It’s rather nerdy of me, but I have a little quote that runs through my head whenever I get on my bike or when it comes to the risks associated with riding. It’s a quote the sword instructor from the first season of Game of Thrones: “There is only one god and his name is Death. And there is only one thing that we say to Death: not today.”

    Of course, that being said, I don’t intend to make it easy for him to catch up to me, so ATGATT.

    • twotiretirade

      Game of Thrones Rocks but of course every time I really like a character he ends up getting killed off but I continue to read despite the loss. There is a spark that goes along with riding, I believe that spark may be at least partially created by the danger associated with riding. Of course I only speak for myself on the matter. Today I took my FJR out for a spin. There is still two feet of snow outside and the temp was at freezing. My back tire slid out once on me but I caught it. That is when the adrenaline started pumping. Good Stuff…

  • Scott

    I bought my first bike in 1957. I was 20 and stationed at Charleston AFB. I owned 10 more and sold my last one at age 74. I never went down, but I sure had some close calls.

    • twotiretirade

      This news is most terrific! You are the man that proves that ugly myth false. I mean don’t get me wrong the myth serves a purpose to motivate good riding skills and to wear proper riding equipment. Thank you for the information!!!!!!

  • HARSH GUJJAR

    GUJJAR IS KING GUJJARO SEI BACHKEY

Leave a Reply

