The Moment I Knew I was Breakable

Now that my Harley is fixed, I have been dwelling on the wondrous rides of the future.  Hopefully 2012 will be filled with terrific trips, long rides, perfect roads and will be a safe riding season.  Unfortunately accidents happen, no matter the experience, riding skills and precautions that a rider will take.   I still remember my first bad crash that I was involved in.  Though it was not an auto/cycle accident, it was severe enough to permanently imprint a lasting memory into my conscience.  I was riding my snowboard at Suicide Six Ski Resort in Woodstock, VT and was trying to impress a few ladies whom I met at the mountain.  The hormones and adrenaline of the moment motivated me to attempt a trick which I never previously landed, off a jump the size of Gibraltar.  To make a long story short, I bailed hard and it cost me a ride down the Mountain in the meat wagon and an hour ambulance ride to Dartmouth Medical Facility in New Hampshire.  It was huge spill which kept me off my feet for weeks.

The brief moment while airborne is the portion of the crash which I remember most.  The instant right before colliding into the ground seemed to slow down as if in suspended animation.  I actually had time to have a conversation with myself and remember thinking of the impeding pain which would surely come as I hit the ground.  Another thought was that one should never try to impress a girl while snowboarding.  Then there was this profound moment where I remembered a few childhood memories.  The 2 seconds seem to last for an eternity.  I can’t tell you what memories I recalled but at the time they seemed so surreal.  Then I hit ground with a tremendous force which knocked me unconscious for several minutes.

My first real crash changed me; it was then that I knew I was breakable.  Luckily I was able to make a full recovery and learned a valuable lesson.  Ride hard, search for that perfect road, excite your inner road demon, be courageous, be happy and most important, and let the ride continue.

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

18 responses to “The Moment I Knew I was Breakable

  • 800feetagl

    I think to myself, every time I am about to hit the ground, after jumping out of a perfectly good airplane, “This is going to hurt.”

  • pouringmyartout

    I remember every wreck I ever had.

    • twotiretirade

      They are hard to forget but luckily we also remember those most stellar rides. Heck I can still smell the food cooking at my favorite restaurant in Maine and the conversations I had with the locals on a motorcycle trip I took about 4 years ago.

  • Ryan Adnin - theopenroadsg

    Sometimes falling is inevitable. it is the lessons learnt from taking the fall they holds true value. take care and ride safe!

    • twotiretirade

      So true- I have learned more from my failures/falls more then all my years of college will have ever taught me. Of course if I was a little smarter, a little wiser then many of those falls could have been avoided. Its all about the life experiences. Thanks for sharing!

  • Ryan Adnin - theopenroadsg

    I was temporarily paralyzed after a bmx dirtbike accident, trying to impress some ladies Haha so well I know how you feel Haha.

  • VeronicaThePajamaThief

    They say humans have no [true] memory for pain… that must be why we get back up when we fall, crash, or are knocked down.

    • twotiretirade

      Now that you say it, I don’t really remember the pain per say, just the situation. Great point. Getting back up can be hard to do but we do it everyday. I think that is what life is all about,” falling down and getting back up “. Its just that simple sometimes.

  • Cupcakes and Kickstarts

    But most importantly, were the girls impressed? 🙂

  • scroungelady

    Hey man! Loved the post! I do remember my separations from the motorcycle: feet flying through the air, little flashes of light when my helmet kisses the pavement. Things do seem to happen in slow motion. If you can, relax and let go; tensed muscles are more likely to result in injury. In wrestler talk that means “going limp”; let the guy work ’til he’s off balance. Same thing – relax. That doesn’t mean not trying to stop if the situation calls for it.
    I know “going limp” helped save my life. Nearlly three years ago I was sideswiped by a drunk driver on my Buell Lightning, causing me to fly 50 feet to the bottom of a ravine. Even though I’ve been riding for many years and am a MSF instructor, there was nothing to be done when the car suddenly veers into my lane just when she was parallel with me. Seventeen fractures + internal injuries as a result. You’re kidding yourself if you think you can control your environment; only God knows. You are right. We are breakable.
    I love the photos in your posts. The ’42 WLA is the bomb, literally!! I’ll be following ya, have a great spring!

  • twotiretirade

    Scroungelady- Im so glad that you were able to make it out of that accident alive. Stupid drunk drivers. Accidents happen but your incident was not an accident. It was an assault which caused bodily injury to an innocent person (you). Sorry you had to go through such an injury and hope your back to 100 percent.

  • Joe Crivelli

    I serve as a ski patroller in the wintertime and have given many meat wagon rides to adrenaline- and hormone-filled dudes just like yourself! Glad to hear at least one of you left the mountain having learned something!

    This past season a snowboarder was brought into the patrol room after he attempted some crazy jump and landed on his head. While we were getting his info he revealed he was diabetic. Later after we called the ambulance he said, “Oh well. There goes my New Years resolution.” I asked him what his resolution was and he said, “To stay out of the ER.”

    “Oh…,” I replied, “Are you in the ER a lot because of your diabetes?”

    He replied, “No, because I’m extremely accident prone.”

    :insert rolling eyes here:

Leave a Reply

