Ride When You Can

It’s rare up north when we have an opportunity to ride in late November.  Yesterday a group of us sized the moment and took a wonderful ride.  Now it was not such a nice day compared to some standards.  It was about 48 degrees and cloudy.  The sun tried to give us a peek but the grey haze was just too strong.  I was thankful for no rain or snow.  It was such a surprise to see so many cycles out.  I even saw a little scooter traveling with a pack of crotch rockets.  All cycles, even bicycles deserve my respect.  In my world it’s all about the two wheels. In these parts, we all know the time is quickly approaching where ice and snow will keep us imprisoned in our homes.  Ride when you can!

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

8 responses to “Ride When You Can

  • Few More Miles

    Being from Pennsylvania, I couldn’t agree with you more.

    • twotiretirade

      Why could I not have found a job in AZ or AL where I could ride all year round. Well at least we do not have to many Hurricanes. Oh wait a minute I did have one this year…. Ugggg, I cant win…Thanks for the response FMM. I rode to Gettysburg this year past summer and loved it. My goal was to ride the park after dark in hopes of seeing a ghost. Never did find a ghost but had a great ride none the less. Take Care…

  • The OC

    I agree. 🙂 It’s not like we have a whole eternity to do what we love. We better seize each day doing and going for our passion. I personally would really want to be able to ride a two-wheeler someday. :>

  • eamallory

    Hell Yeah!
    It was 23 degrees when I left my house this morning… still beautiful frosty clear morning with a thin crescent moon in the western sky. It makes the office coffee that much better!

  • Joe Crivelli

    I had a fabulous day of riding on Sunday too. Then took the Rocket home, filled the tank and added stabilizer, took out the battery put it on a tender, and threw the cover on it for the winter. It was bittersweet – it was a gorgeous day of riding but I also knew it was the last day of the season for me regardless of December weather because I’m having shoulder surgery on Friday.

    On another note one of the guys I was riding with went down. I didn’t see it happen but came around a bend and saw his bike laying in a roadside ditch with him struggling to get out from under it. He was VERY lucky – nothing broken on either him or the bike. He rode away and finished the ride on his bike without incident. He had come around a curve and hit the smallest patch of dirt you can imagine, but it was enough to make him slide right off the road. Good reminder of how important it is to scan the road constantly and never discount the ability of obstacles – even seemingly insignificant ones – to take you out.

    Joe
    http://www.NoBaffles.com

    • twotiretirade

      emmallory- I liked the attached video, so true. I dont ever remember having a bad ride. I have had cold rides, wet rides, long rides and much to short rides but never a bad ride.

      Nobaffles- Its always a sad day when we have to put away our bikes for the season but now we get to start planning all of our rides for next year. This year Im lucky. I think in February I am renting a cycle in Tampa with a goal of driving to Key West. We’ll see if it happens but I will hold onto hope that it does.

  • notjust4girrlz

    “Ride When You Can” is such a great mantra. Whether due to the seasons or time itself, we all face challenges in upholding that special variation of carpe diem.

    I only bought my motorcycle this past August, and I was just starting to finally get a feel for it when the warm weather disappeared. While on one of my last longer rides of the year back in October, I was giddy with the joy of having beaten the weather — clear blue skies are a rarity where I live and with all of my layers under my leather I didn’t feel cold at all despite temperatures only in the mid 40s. This was very important to me for reasons other than comfort. Many years ago, probably before heated motorcycle gear existed, a German friend who rides (the majority of Germans take their motorcycle safety Very seriously) used to swear under his breath every time he saw someone riding in winter, “Anyone who rides after October is setting themselves up for arthritis in their knees.” A part of me is still certain I’m too young (and active!) for arthritis, but the other part part was very happy my legs were warm. About half-way through my ride, my hands were quite chilly. During the final hour or two it took to get home, they were very cold. I thought nothing of it and took advantage of two such beautiful days before it dawned on me that my hands, which had been aching strangely for two weeks after my last ride, may have fallen victim to my friend’s prophesy. Very, very luckily, after several more weeks the aching feeling in my hands has finally disappeared. Temps during the day here now often only make it to the upper 30s. If a rainless day presents itself, I still try to take my bike out once a month to warm it up, but until I acquire a reliable pair of heated gloves and/or grips, I will me much less tempted to stay out for more than about an hour. Keep warm! And be careful of all those slippery leaves still on the ground around hidden curves…

    • twotiretirade

      My family has a history of blood circulation issues. Over the last 8 years I have noticed that I get cold easily especially my feet. Im always out there looking for new ways to keep my feet warm when I ride. It’s not bad enough to go with heated clothing/boots but that will be the next step. I noticed that when I lost like 30 pounds, my feet were warmer. I kind of wish I had a smaller duel sport to ride in the winter. Falling on say a Yamaha 250 may be easier to deal with then falling on my Harley FXD.

Leave a Reply

