Yesterdays Motorcycle was a HUFFY

Why do motorcyclist love motorcycles? I am sure it differs for most but there has to be some common threads which bind our mutual passion for riding. For me it started when I learned how to ride a bike. My parents made sure I did not get a motor bike so I substituted V-twin power with pedal power. Back then it was the freedom which I enjoyed. I grew up in a rural area and the closest store was 6 miles away. My elementary school was 18 miles away and my nearest school buddy was not in walking range. My HUFFY was the only way I was going get anywhere. My bicycle equaled opportunity to do what I wanted. It gave me the freedom to travel on my own path, on my own schedule. As long as I was willing to pedal, the world was my playground. Over the years my love of bicycles transformed into a love of Motorcycles. I think for me it’s still the freedom which I enjoy most. Not really the same type of freedom as in my youth but freedom none the less.
I think I need to end this commentary with a special shout out to my old HUFFY. Thanks for the good times, without you I may not be riding my cycle today. 

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

One response to “Yesterdays Motorcycle was a HUFFY

Leave a Reply

