Riding Bliss

Better Photo Colorado

I’m back living in Colorado after driving 32 hours straight across country with the exception of a 4 hour nap. It was a trip fueled by memories, dreams, worries, hope and coca cola. It was strange because I did not get sleepy during my thoughtful journey. I forced myself to nap based upon safety concerns more than exhaustion.

I remember back during the invasion of Iraq, we had 4 day long missions where one would be lucky to get 2-3 hours a day worth of shut-eye. No one from my squad complained about the lack of sleep. We just past out when we could and kept pushing forward. The complaints really did not begin until the bullets stopped flying. When life settled down we found ample time to realize we were miserable and than some of us began to travel down that slippery dark spiral of doubt.  Dreams are crushed by doubt, so it must be controlled. Every emotion has its uses but some emotions can be a detriment to soul. We must be cautious in life and doubt can often be a tool that allows us to make rational decisions but when one has a mission or task to accomplish then doubt needs to be eliminated. I have battled doubt and other insecurities my whole life. It is a battle that will only be lost when one gives up. So the trick is to face each challenge head on even if doubt exists basically disregarding the negative influence of the emotion. You can also use ones insecurities to fuel your motivation to become better at the task needing to be achieved. Let it motivate you to greater heights. Doubt will always win if you let it keep you from doing what lies ahead.

I am sitting in the small town of Morrison, CO just west of Denver. There is a creek behind me and I listen to the splendid chorus which puts me a drift in a flotilla of peace. I spent 5 hours just riding my motorcycle today. There was no route nor destination, just the ride. I cannot tell you where I went but I can tell you that I felt thousands of wonderful nervous butterflies as I twisted through the most phenomenal mountain canyons. You don’t know how bad you had it till you ride some of these gorgeous highland roads.

By the end of my 5 hour jaunt, my brain was fried with curvaceous memories of twisting Bliss……………

Better Doubt

 

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

13 responses to “Riding Bliss

  • Rajiv

    32 hours? Oh wow. I feel the raw emotion in this post. Brilliant. Some of what you say applies to me as well.

  • Wendy

    Great quote, and I can close my eyes and visualize your mountains and those great rodes. Enjoy those elevations!

  • Newbie Alaskan

    Whew, that sounds a lot like the ‘Iron Butt’ kind of riding! By the way, nice bike! I loved this post; I could just about feel what you were experiencing as I read it. I, too, loved the quote. It took me almost 60 years of living to realize that the real barriers to me being able to do anything were those I imposed myself. So many times I’d decided I wouldn’t like doing something or I wouldn’t be able to accomplish some task; in so doing I doomed myself to not being open to the experience and hence never even tried. ‘To see light one must first be receptive to light’ and all too often I’d made myself non-receptive. Coupling this understanding with my eventual belief at a spiritual level that ‘attitude is everything’ truly changed my perspective on life and living; sometimes I wish it hadn’t taken 50 plus years to reach this point but there’s a reason for everything and hence I’m not going to waste energy regretting it took so long but rather celebrate the fact I finally made it! Keep up the great writing..!

    • twotiretirade

      Thank you for the comment and kind words. Lessons we learn in life sometimes come quick and others take a while to digest. I find that my mind has become more open to lessons as I have grown older which goes against my thought that I would become more stubborn with age and less likely to learn new tricks.

  • LB

    What a perfect quote! That 5 hour ride sounds incredible (the 32 hour ride sounds challenging – what an adventure!)
    Thank you for this post, and for your years of service.

  • George Cramer

    I look forward to your tirades. Each one is a different view into the body and soul of a rider. At 70 I’m not going to try the 32 experience, but have and will again enjoy some of the beautiful Colorado rides. Even the tough ones are remarkable. Several years ago three buddies and I stopped at the top of Monarch Pass. It was 22 degrees and snowing heavily. It wasn’t the smartest place to be, but it was a great experience. We all look forward to hearing more from you on this trip.
    Hope we cross paths one of these days.

    • twotiretirade

      I moved to Colorado for good now, so when I am not traveling for with work (which is often) I will be in the mountain state. If you are ever around, send me a message and I would love to meet up. Monarch Pass, that sounds like a nice place to visit. Thank you for the suggestion!!!!

  • motormouth

    thank you for pointing it out that doubt is the evil bitch. some times the hardest war is inside our self and we feel lonely in the feeling.damn tomorrow i go for ride

    • twotiretirade

      More men died by suicide after they survived the war in Viet Nam then in actual combat during that same war. The war inside ourselves can be brutal for anyone to cope with. All I know is that I try to be there for those in need. Sometimes just a listening ear can help. My writing helps to get things out. It serves as a place to vent. Riding serves to excite but also clears my head. Everyone needs some sort of release to keep them smiling.

      Go for that ride, feel the wind in your hair, take that curve and feel your stomach twinge with excitement. On a cycle, there is no doubt, there is no fear, there is no hate or negativity. There is only the sound of the engine belting out a radical tune……….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 330 other followers

