How To Get Around Your Fear of the Dentist

Dental

No One likes the dentist.  Even when you have perfect pearly whites, the trip to the dentist is still uncomfortable.  It’s bad when the dentist whips out the drill to do some enamel fabricating.  The worst in my experience is the tooth extraction, at this point just knock me out.

I feel bad for the dentist and the dental hygienist.  They have a tough job and should get more credit for what they do.  How many people brush their teeth and use mouth wash before their dental exam? It’s a fair question.  How would you like to go to work with someone less than ½ inch from your nose breathing into your face with bad breath?  I can’t deal with my own breath when I wake up in the morning let alone someone else’s halitosis all day long.  It does not stop there.  They have to live in constant phobia of getting one of their fingers bit off by some yahoo with an Oral Reflex Response Disorder or ORRD for short (I just made up this medical condition but I am sure it exists).  It’s all fun and games until some whack job with bad breath bites your index finger off because you touched their tongue.  Life changes when you lose a digit and it’s not for the best.

I have a theory to improve your Dental Experience, at least it works for me.  Have you ever noticed that in life, it’s never about you?  When is the last time you have had all the focus completely on you in a beneficial way?  Think about it, when you are at a restaurant, is your server totally concentrating on you or are they multitasking?  Do your kids pay attention to you during dinner after you cooked the meal and worked 60 hours a week to put food on the table.  Does your cat really care that you’re alive?  If you’re like me, you will find that most of the time, you are not the primary focal point of life.  Here is the good news.  When you go to the dentist, everyone is totally dedicated to the betterment of your mouth.  A dentist or dental hygienists is not worried about random thoughts and ideas when working on your teeth because they are too concerned about your Oral Reflex Response Disorder and don’t want to lose a finger in the mouth betterment process.  They are 100 Percent FOCUSED on your Oral Health.  I say celebrate that truly unique focus, you won’t get it anywhere else.  Yes, the whole situation is uncomfortable and can often be horrifically painful but at least you can say that the whole situation revolved around the betterment of you.  That is a rare situation indeed.

www.pinterest.com

About twotiretirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being. View all posts by twotiretirade

6 responses to “How To Get Around Your Fear of the Dentist

  • Experimental Ghost

    I admit I avoid the dentist, when I go its usually to fix rather than prevent.

    But what I want to know is; during the consult, during small talk. How the hec does the dentist understand their client when the client has a numb mouth full of utensils?

  • Rajiv

    Oh no!! Dentists arouse the fear of The Devil in me!

    • twotiretirade

      Dentists are rather scary. I have a long list list of things I am scared of…..
      I will have to dwell upon what tops my list of fear. One thing that comes to mind is little critters hiding in my sleeping bag. When I was in the desert, I lived in a tent for a year and I would always check my sleeping back before I went to bed. I did this even know I kept my sleeping bag it in a sealed plastic box, folded up. That brings back old memories.

  • LB

    ORRD!! Love it! and what a great suggestion – to think about the fact that they are totally focused on US when in that chair! (and I say this as I go for yet another appointment tomorrow!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 323 other followers

